
USAV LIBERO SERVING RULE 

 

 

USAV 7.7.1:  A rotational fault is committed when a Libero serves in a second rotation 

position in the same set. 

 

 

USAV 19.3.1.3: 
 

a. The Libero may not block or attempt to block. 

 

b. In one rotation, a Libero may serve after replacing the player in position 1. 

 

USAV 19.3.2.1:  In one rotation, a Libero can replace the player in position 1 and serve 

the next rally, even if s/he is already on the court in replacement of another player.  In 

this situation, the Libero does not have to exit the court before replacing the player in 

position 1, and there does not need to be a completed rally between Libero replacements. 

 

 

Related Rule Interpretations 
 

1. Team A's Libero (#3) is in the game in position 5, having replaced #8.  A Libero 

has not served in the set.  #10 is in position 2.  Team A wins the rally and rotates.  

The Libero #3 goes directly to position 1 to serve.  Team A's #8 comes off the 

bench to position 4 and #10 leaves the court to the bench.  Both regular players 

exchange through the Libero Replacement Zone. 

 

Ruling:  This is the proper procedure.  According to USAV 19.3.2.1, the Libero does 

not have to leave the court, and there need not be a completed rally if s/he is replacing 

the player in position 1, and is the next correct server. 

 

2. Team A's Libero (#3) is on the court in position 5, having replaced #8.  Team A 

has a second Libero (#14) who is on the bench.  A Libero has not served in the set.  

#10 is in position 2.  Team A wins the rally and rotates.  Team A wants the 

second Libero (#14) to serve, so Libero #3 and regular player #8 exchange, and 

Libero #14 and regular player #10 exchange.  Libero #14 is the next server for 

Team A. 

 

Ruling:  This is the proper procedure.  A team with two designated Liberos may 

exchange Liberos freely, as long as the exchange takes place between completed 

rallies.  Either Libero may serve, as long as it is in only one service rotation position. 

 

3. Team A's Libero #3 has served in rotation 1.  In the same set, after winning a rally, 

Team A's Libero #14 replaces the player in rotation 4 on the scoresheet.  #14 goes 

to position 1 and prepares to serve. 

 



Ruling:  Even when there are two Liberos on a team, the Libero(s) can only serve in 

one position on the scoresheet.  The Scorer and Assistant Scorer should wait until the 

Libero contacts the ball for service, and then notify the second referee that a rotation 

fault has occurred.  The second referee should whistle to stop play, indicate a 

rotational fault, and the first referee should award the rally to Team B.  If Libero #14 

entered the game from the bench after there had been a completed rally, s/he may stay 

in the game.  If Libero #14 was already on the court, or if there had not been a 

completed rally between the Libero replacements, the regular player and Libero #14 

must exchange, with the regular player going back to position 1.  There now must be 

a completed rally before Team A is allowed another Libero replacement.     

 

4. Team A's Libero, #3 serves three points.  The Team A coach now wants their 

second Libero, #14 to serve during the same term of service. 

 

Ruling:  Per Rule 19.3.2.2 the Liberos are allowed to exchange after a completed 

rally at any time during the match, so there is no rule prohibiting this type of 

replacement.  However, the match must not be delayed any longer than if the same 

player had stayed in the game to serve.  If there is any delay longer than the normally 

allowed interval between serves, the replacement is allowed, however a delay 

sanction should be assessed.   

 

5. Team A's #1 rotates to position 1 to serve.  The Team A Libero runs from the 

warm-up area, and #1 leaves the service zone directly to the warm-up area.  The 

exchange takes place behind the end line.   

 

Ruling:  All Libero exchanges must take place in the Libero Replacement Zone, in 

order for the Scorer and Assistant Scorer to properly note the exchange.  Team A is at 

risk of a delay sanction.  Even if a delay sanction is assessed, the replacement, if 

otherwise legal, should be allowed. 

 


